BJP nominates Kamakhya Prasad Tasa for Rajya Sabha

Friday, 24 January 2020

daily news

BJP nominates Kamakhya Prasad Tasa for Rajya Sabha

G Plus News | May 27, 2019 19:01 hrs

GUWAHATI: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Assam has nominated the party's outgoing Lok Sabha MP from Jorhat, Kamakhya Prasad Tasa, for one of the two Rajya Sabha seats, elections for which will be held on June 7.

Tasa, who belongs to the Tea tribe community, won the Lok Sabha polls from Jorhat constituency in 2014.

It should be mentioned that two of Assam’s seven Rajya Sabha seats will be vacated once the six-year tenure of Manmohan Singh and Santiuse Kujur will come to an end on June 14.

Meanwhile, Assam Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma has said that BJP will give one of the two seats to a candidate of its alliance partner Asom Gana Parishad (AGP). AGP leaders said that the party would field former MP Birendra Prasad Baishya for the Rajya Sabha seat.


Kamakhya Prasad Tasa

Comments (0) Post Comment