Queen Ojha wins Gauhati Lok Sabha constituency seat

Wednesday, 30 September 2020

daily news

Queen Ojha wins Gauhati Lok Sabha constituency seat

G Plus News | May 24, 2019 09:25 hrs

GUWAHATI: In a much anticipated victory, Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) candidate for the Gauhati Lok Sabha Constituency, Queen Ojha, has won the seat.  

She defeated her main opponent, Indian National Congress’ Bobbeeta Sharma with a margin of 345606 votes.


It should be noted that Ojha has more political experience than Sharma as she has been active as a politician since the days of the Assam Agitation. She then later joined Asom Gana Pa

rishad (AGP) and in 1996, became the Mayor of Guwahati after winning the Guwahati Municipal Corporation elections. Ojha had also contested for legislative assembly in 2001 from Gauhati East constituency but was defeated. Ojha then joined BJP in 2014 and has now been fielded by the party for the Gauhati Lok Sabha seat. 

The other prominent name in this fight is senior Supreme Court advocate, Upamanyu Hazarika, who is contesting as an independent candidate.



Queen Ojha

Comments (0) Post Comment