Team India Players To Sport Numbered Test Jerseys For The First Time

Thursday, 27 February 2020

daily news

Team India Players To Sport Numbered Test Jerseys For The First Time

G Plus News | August 22, 2019 12:23 hrs

GUWAHATI: The official Instagram handle of the Indian Cricket Team revealed the jersey numbers of Indian cricketers who will play a two-match Test series against West Indies in the World Test Championships starting from August 22 in Antigua. 

The move to introduce numbered jerseys was introduced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to engage more youth in the sport. 

It should be noted that the use of numbered jerseys will continue throughout the World Test Championship.

Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli will sport the number 18 on his back while others such as middle-order batsman Ajinkya Rahane will wear number 3, bowlers Mohammad Shami and Kuldeep Yadav will don numbers 11 and 21. Batsman Chesteshwar Pujara will wear number 25 and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja will don number eight on his jersey. Pacer Ishant Sharma will be seen wearing number 97, wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant number 17 and Rohit Sharma number 45. Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin will wear number 99 and Hanuma Vihari will wear number 44. 

It is to be mentioned that this is the first time in the history of test cricket that Team India players will be wearing jerseys with both their names and numbers. 


Viral Kohli (L) Rohit Sharma (R)

Comment (1) Post Comment
  • Dr Austin

    PUBLIC NOTICE; We are in need of kidney donor urgently with the sum of 4 crore 30 lakh, contact Dr Austin on WhatsApp NO +919535604767