G Plus

Wednesday, 18 September 2019

oPINIONS

Editorials

Guwahati Water Project Just A Dream?

Guwahati’s fast growing water crisis is what makes the JICA underground water supply project so very important in the fast changing landscape of the city.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | September 14, 2019 17:00 hrs

Enabling Digital Payments At DC Court

My initial negative assumptions were justified because visiting government offices for work has traditionally never been great experiences for anyone.

Swapnil Bharali | September 14, 2019 15:26 hrs

Our Well Greased DTO

Visiting government offices located in Guwahati for personal work is often considered a potentially daunting experience; such visits are often procrastinated upon, kept in abeyance.

Swapnil Bharali | September 07, 2019 16:55 hrs

Slump Of The Automobile Industry

The automobile sector is down, but is it a real indicator of how poorly the economy is performing?

Sidharth Bedi Varma | September 07, 2019 12:59 hrs

It’s NRC Day

The US media sought to paint the entire NRC exercise as a picture of Hindu-Muslim enmity.

Swapnil Bharali | August 31, 2019 13:32 hrs

What Happens After The NRC?

After failing to meet several deadlines, the ill-fated NRC is finally going to be out. The question is, will this document sort the confusion around the identity of the people in Assam?

Sidharth Bedi Varma | August 31, 2019 12:29 hrs

Right To Dignity

Needless drama. Precisely what the whole Chidambaram arrest was all about. The news and the “sensationalism” surrounding it however, gripped the country like nothing else this week.

Swapnil Bharali | August 24, 2019 15:52 hrs

What Happened To The Funds For Assam floods?

An important question that needs an answer is how have the funds been disbursed for the rehabilitation of those affected by floods.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | August 24, 2019 15:44 hrs

The Mandatory NE Stint

The union government can now offer its undivided attention to overhaul the northeast and bring it at par with the rest of the country.

Swapnil Bharali | August 17, 2019 14:39 hrs

Guwahati Adda | Celebrating the Spirit of Independence in Troubled Times

For me, freedom is staying home on a National holiday and driving on G.S Road at 60 kmph on a Thursday afternoon.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | August 17, 2019 12:29 hrs

Guwahati Adda | Kashmir and Jai Shree Ram!

Kohli charges more for an Instagram post than the annual transaction between India and Pakistan.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | August 10, 2019 13:46 hrs

The Surprise Tactic

While the fate of Jammu & Kashmir has changed forever with one stroke of the President’s pen, in quick succession, the nation has lost one of its tallest leaders – Sushma Swaraj.

Swapnil Bharali | August 10, 2019 13:38 hrs

The Silent Recession

Every business establishment comes with its own liabilities of paying salaries, rent, taxes, electricity bills, interests on loans etc.

Swapnil Bharali | August 03, 2019 15:28 hrs

Wrath of Nature

They often say that public memory is short. Well, I beg to differ although I am as much public as anyone else! When it comes to our floods and the annual misery that it brings to our lovely state

Swapnil Bharali | July 27, 2019 15:43 hrs

Unused Life Jackets

It is high time that the law is enforced for public who are not being responsible enough towards their own lives.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | July 27, 2019 12:29 hrs

The worst ever floods

The proverbial silver lining to this dark cloud is that Assam continues to be a water-surplus state unlike most of the rest of India.

Swapnil Bharali | July 20, 2019 13:40 hrs

The ‘oldie’ flood on FB

Assam flood is clearly one of them and the second one is the flood of “old people” photos on my social media timeline.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | July 20, 2019 12:24 hrs

The ‘Duck Worth Less’ method

Is there a blame game on in the midst of the praises for Dhoni and Jadeja? Maybe yes, maybe no.

Swapnil Bharali | July 13, 2019 18:25 hrs

Seize the opportunity

For once, the Gandhi scion, Rahul, has been right. Or rather has taken the right decision.

Swapnil Bharali | July 06, 2019 15:28 hrs

The other no-good Rahul

The nation has otherwise come across two Rahuls – one a forever struggling politician and the other, a supposedly promising cricketer.

Swapnil Bharali | June 29, 2019 12:46 hrs

Kabir Singh ka thappad

It seems like a scene from the movie Kabir Singh has become the most debated topic in the past week.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | June 29, 2019 12:08 hrs

Missing a Mayor

Let me recall for you “Ward Talks.” It was an initiative of G Plus where we took accountability to the micro level of the wards of the city and discussed issues pertaining to each ward

Swapnil Bharali | June 22, 2019 13:32 hrs

Driving in Guwahati; A motorist’ nightmare

For a city that still hasn’t understood the correct use of the ‘hazard light’, the fact that people have started giving way to an ambulance on the road, seems to tell us that all is not lost.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | June 22, 2019 12:31 hrs

World Cup woes

The first thing one would think of when it comes to the Cricket World Cup is the nagging, persistent and incessant rains especially because India is the clear favourite to win the Cup and has performed in its opening two matches as the champion designate.

Swapnil Bharali | June 15, 2019 15:20 hrs

Guwahati this June - traffic snarls, water-logging and Ambubachi Mela

With the temperatures soaring in Guwahati, the city has let out a cry for help this summer. Temperatures have already peaked to 38°C with the “real feel” exceeding 45°C.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | June 15, 2019 13:19 hrs

Fallen grace: No humanity, no mercy

Recently, a two-and-a-half-year-old girl was brutally murdered by two full-grown men in a town in Uttar Pradesh.

Harshita Himatsingka | June 08, 2019 12:10 hrs

A ‘slap’ on Assamese hospitality

Guwahati clearly has untrained people who do not know how to extend warmth and hospitality to a patron seeking a paid service.

Swapnil Bharali | June 08, 2019 11:46 hrs

No orchids for HBS

Politicians have ambitions and there is nothing wrong in that. This has been amply reiterated by Amit Shah’s elevation from party president to union home minister in the new Modi cabinet.

Swapnil Bharali | June 01, 2019 13:30 hrs

The deserving loser

The smooth and peaceful retention of power – something that makes us all proud to be part of the Indian democracy, the world’s largest – is done and Prime Minister Narendra Modi returns to power even stronger than before. A stronger mandate, bigger numbers.

Swapnil Bharali | May 25, 2019 15:44 hrs

The Victory of Good Advertising

Let’s be clear about this – the victory of BJP is the victory of good advertising, impeccable marketing strategy and great communication skills.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | May 25, 2019 14:47 hrs

Fund shortage ULFA (I)?

So our so-called “respectable” morality and societal monitor, the biggest well-wisher of Axom desh, is at it again huh!

Swapnil Bharali | May 18, 2019 14:20 hrs

Do marks really matter?

The results are here and students have the marks to show for it. There are a lot of hoorahs going around and at the same time, a lot of disappointed parents and students.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | May 18, 2019 13:36 hrs

The novelty in the routine

With the onset of the holy month of Ramzaan, you must be waiting for an iftaar invitation or to the grand feast on the 5th-6th, and if my Muslim friends are reading this, you must have already started hearing, “Bhai, tere paas aayenge Eid khane.”

Sidharth Bedi Varma | May 11, 2019 13:41 hrs

Stray ‘pets’

The recent incident of a mad stray dog turning ferocious enough to bite 50 people on the streets of Pan Bazar, Fancy Bazar and Lakhtokia and thereafter simply disappearing from the scene brings an uneasiness to the mind.

Swapnil Bharali | May 11, 2019 13:34 hrs

Memorable moments with Malka

I, along with many others, was privy to a great piece of lecture delivered as a keynote address by the Ambassador of Israel to India, Dr Ron Malka.

Swapnil Bharali | May 04, 2019 13:48 hrs

Assamese actors & fear of the English language

I am privy to the insecurity of the “Assamese folk and their language,” brought forward after two recent incidents I witnessed.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | May 04, 2019 13:44 hrs

Indignant!

The elections in Assam are over and as we await the results while following the electoral activities in the rest of the country, we have nothing but indignation for at least three incidents with regard to the elections in Assam.

Swapnil Bharali | April 27, 2019 12:26 hrs

Avengers Assemble!

With the election fever now over, I was thinking about watching Avengers: Endgame. You want to join?

Sidharth Bedi Varma | April 27, 2019 11:24 hrs

The final phase

Come 23rd April and Guwahati city will go to polls to elect its Member of Parliament. The first two phases of polls have seen an encouraging turnout with voting percentage touching 80% in some centres.

Swapnil Bharali | April 20, 2019 14:12 hrs

The most effective political campaign?

With the elections set to end in Assam on 23rd April, it calls for political parties to see whether they have spent their money wisely – an ROI assessment if you will.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | April 20, 2019 13:35 hrs

The CAB promise and its repercussions

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in a massive election rally in Bengali-dominated Silchar on Thursday, has once again reiterated his promise of bringing in the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2016 if voted to power.

Swapnil Bharali | April 13, 2019 13:26 hrs

Urban-rural voting patterns

Phase I of the grand Indian elections has now concluded leaving us all to ask just one thing – a somewhat low voter turnout; is this going to be the trend across the rest of the phases?

Sidharth Bedi Varma | April 13, 2019 11:16 hrs

Dignity of politics

What was the need for Queen Ojha to do what she did! To “falsify” something as stark as your educational qualification, whether deliberately or by oversight, amounts to lying through your nose to your voters.

Swapnil Bharali | April 06, 2019 11:10 hrs

Wanna be a chowkidar?

Though the BJP claims that the Twitter hashtag campaign #MainBhiChowkidar is a massive online hit, it did not brainstorm enough as to the impact such campaigns might have on the public, especially on children.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | April 06, 2019 11:05 hrs

Fresh faces, old battles

It seems a long career in politics with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is not the best of options for the party’s politicians.

Swapnil Bharali | March 30, 2019 15:39 hrs

The dearth of leadership

As the elections draw near and the political drama has engulfed the nation, we are once again at the crossroads of “who do we choose?”

Sidharth Bedi Varma | March 30, 2019 13:29 hrs

Prolonging the suspense

The conversations in the coffee shops and clubs of Guwahati these days are invariably of the Gauhati Lok Sabha candidates; the suspense kept up by the various political parties in declaring the names of their respective candidates.

Swapnil Bharali | March 23, 2019 11:27 hrs

Guwahati Adda | Holi pe “Chowkidari”

The following is an excerpt from a conversation between a young chap from the city and a cop at a traffic point.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | March 23, 2019 11:14 hrs

Spoilt for choice?

The current political scenario in the city is fraught with speculations like: Himanta Biswa Sarma is contesting from Tezpur. Oh no, he is Gauhati’s candidate.

Swapnil Bharali | March 16, 2019 13:45 hrs

Guwahati Adda | Political analysis of the Oversmart

Litu: So we’re so close to the LS Polls. I wonder who is going to take the throne. Bitu: Who do you think?

Sidharth Bedi Varma | March 16, 2019 11:56 hrs

Conrad and Assam

The new regional leader today with some great credence is undoubtedly Conrad Sangma. He championed the lapse of the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2016 in the Rajya Sabha

Swapnil Bharali | March 10, 2019 11:11 hrs

The final ‘Shoe-down’ before the Elections!

Racing to beat the model code of conduct that is going to kick in after the Election Commission announces the general election schedule, the central government is making a last ditch effort to “book its goodwill” for the upcoming elections.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | March 10, 2019 11:03 hrs

Pilot is back, what next?

Hurrah! Prime Minister Narendra Modi bags an international award – a prestigious one at that. The PM has become the 14th recipient of the Seoul Peace Prize. Peace award at Seoul for being a “soul.” Get it?

Sidharth Bedi Varma | March 02, 2019 11:09 hrs

India, Pakistan … some random thoughts

How seriously do I, along with the rest of the world, take certain recent utterances of US President Donald Trump? Utterances like “reasonably attractive news” coming from India and Pakistan and that it’s “coming to an end?”

Swapnil Bharali | March 02, 2019 11:02 hrs

Papri ka Chaat

In the World Wide Web your post of something which may be controversial (to some or many) can easily come back to haunt you. I call it digital karma.

Chetan Bhattarai | February 23, 2019 11:27 hrs

Gauhati’s Nadal connection

With the extremely interesting political times ahead, let me be a bit speculative this time with no intention of rubbing anyone wrong. The thing is I am just armed with some rather chewy information which enables me to draw some potentially provocative conclusions.

Swapnil Bharali | February 23, 2019 11:19 hrs

State machinery collapsing?

Well, the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill fracas seems to be momentarily over; one can safely assume that peace has returned to Assam.

Swapnil Bharali | February 16, 2019 12:48 hrs

Guwahati Adda: Dharna Masters

Amar, iyate bor action hua hoise! (Lots of action happening in our region). Ek pine Citizenship Bill got lapsed, which was our victory! (Random strangers cheer, “hurray”)

Sidharth Bedi Varma | February 16, 2019 12:36 hrs

A pack of milk and a small red stool

Are illegal vending zones back? A quick drive around town would clear this question. Often, the narrow lanes of Sarania and the wide lanes near the DGP office seem to be clogged with vendors occupying most of the area on the footpath.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | February 09, 2019 12:31 hrs

Questions for the indigenous Assamese

“Misery acquaints a man with strange bedfellows,” wrote William Shakespeare famously in The Tempest. The modern adaptation of the same is, “Politics makes strange bedfellows.”

Swapnil Bharali | February 09, 2019 12:24 hrs

How much Saffron is there in Assam?

The Bajrang Dal seems to have captured a lot of people’s attention after a recent video surfaced of a Bajrang Dal member threatening KMSS Leader, Akhil Gogoi.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | February 02, 2019 10:42 hrs

No sympathy for Ms Daimary

Flashback 30th October, 2008! When the sunny morning turned dark from smoke billowing out of bombs that blast serially at the busiest localities of Guwahati…

Swapnil Bharali | February 02, 2019 10:38 hrs

Poor PR exercise

The Citizenship (Amendment) Bill (CAB) and its attempted enactment into a law seem to be coming across as a rather poor exercise in public relations by the government.

Swapnil Bharali | January 27, 2019 10:39 hrs

#Guwahati Adda | If Political Parties played PUBG

(Scene: 4 guys, sitting at home, phones out, headphones in; the PUBG theme plays… and action!)

Sidharth Bedi Varma | January 27, 2019 10:11 hrs

The ultimate CAB ride

Is the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2016 a permanent solution to the complex demographic issues of Assam? No, by a long margin, if we are to believe the words of its vociferous propagators. So what is a permanent solution?

Swapnil Bharali | January 25, 2019 11:32 hrs

Celebrating Mediocrity

It is often said that we as people enjoy celebrating mediocrity, and of all the states, I couldn’t emphasize more that Assam emerges as the star here.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | January 25, 2019 10:35 hrs

“Joi Aai Axom” and the Assamese Identity

At a first glance, I certainly don’t look ‘Assamese’ leaving aside that fact that there is no definition set for looking like an Assamese either by appearance, features, attire or language.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | January 13, 2019 10:23 hrs

‘3 states’ of Affairs

Two formidable rivers forming two expansive valleys, some magnificent hills, lakes, forests et al make for this wondrous land called Assam - a state of the Indian Union whose boundaries were carved out by the States Reorganization Commission in 1956 on linguistic lines as was any other state.

Swapnil Bharali | January 13, 2019 10:13 hrs

Watchdog!

At the outset of this first editorial of the New Year, let me wish you, all my dear readers on print and our digital channels a very happy 2019.

Swapnil Bharali | January 05, 2019 12:35 hrs

Sounding the Poll Bugle in NE

Prime Minister Modi has kick started his 2019 poll yatra with a bang. His campaign in Manipur will start off 8 new projects and by laying the foundation stone for these projects, the BJP has made their intention towards the Northeast, more “concrete.”

Sidharth Bedi Varma | January 05, 2019 12:33 hrs

Guwahati Adda

Happy New Year ke Resolutions – ek fake katha! Enthusiastic ladka: Eyy Happy New Year! Balanced dost: Thanks man same to you

Sidharth Bedi Varma | December 29, 2018 11:27 hrs

Procrastinating then, sulking now

Saraighat, Dhola-Sadiya and now Bogibeel! All these bridges bear testimony to the improving infrastructure of the state of Assam besides also improving the country’s defence assets in each case.

Swapnil Bharali | December 29, 2018 11:21 hrs

GMC’s ear-pulling exercise

The Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) has finally taken an important, or rather a landmark decision of penalizing, if you’re caught littering the street.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | December 22, 2018 11:50 hrs

Rabble rousing outsiders

It’s a wonder how our Guwahati repeatedly gets violated by outsiders bringing the city to a standstill; the perpetrators (read instigators), in each instance, are none else but our politicians.

Swapnil Bharali | December 22, 2018 11:37 hrs

Guwahati – the unplanned child

I was in Dehradun about a week ago I was surprised that the city had so much to offer, compared to Guwahati. This was not because I went there for the first time, but more because I could see what was different about the city if I drew a parallel with Guwahati.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | December 15, 2018 12:57 hrs

Please go to Jail

How cool is it to double park? On Guwahati’s narrow streets? Or specifically in Fancy Bazar’s congested Kamarpatty Road? Right under a “No Parking” signage? Not really cool I’d say;

Swapnil Bharali | December 15, 2018 12:28 hrs

Satellite TV, toh life jingalala?

We’re living in times where virtually every rural household has a satellite dish despite a thatched roof and this is a smart initiative to educate more kids who lack resources.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | December 10, 2018 11:34 hrs

Wet days in December

Well, it’s the wedding season and so, time for celebrations. All weddings in the city witness months of rigorous planning so that these significant milestones in any family remain as memorable events for both the hosts and the invited guests.

Swapnil Bharali | December 10, 2018 11:30 hrs

Guwahati beautification drive leaves commuters fuming

With due respect, the city beautification drive is most welcome. But, there are some issues that we should clear before we delve into the topic.

Chetan Bhattarai | December 01, 2018 16:54 hrs

Disturbed, confused!

There was a disturbing video on a certain profile on Facebook yesterday. We at office managed to catch it and download it before it was swiftly removed.

Swapnil Bharali | December 01, 2018 16:38 hrs

Fashionably Unfashionable

A story by G Plus last week caught the attention of a lot of readers when the point raised was that of city beautification – “but only during VIP visits.”

Sidharth Bedi Varma | November 24, 2018 14:14 hrs

Hollering opportunists

Hollering, shouting, yelling, “biting”… I checked the thesaurus: synonyms galore to describe the basic activity that the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) is indulging in right now.

Swapnil Bharali | November 24, 2018 14:10 hrs

Making something out of Nothing

“Tum doodh mangoge, hum Kiron Kheer denge...Tum insult karoge, hum cheer denge…” - Anonymous. The above is a quote sent to G Plus in response to the KaranKirron fiasco.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | November 18, 2018 12:37 hrs

HR challenges

Around a month ago, I got a call from a good friend of mine who happens to be the chief editor of a leading English news channel. The slight edge in his voice suggested that he was indeed desperate in trying to hire some quality copy-writers for his channel and he was seeking my recommendations for a few people who could meet his standards.

Swapnil Bharali | November 18, 2018 12:33 hrs

Guwahati Adda: How was your Diwali?

Funny Man: The Supreme Court and I are the same. Apne ghar me, humari koi nahi sunta… No izzat we have. Sensible Man: Well I think that’s the entire learning this Diwali. Our country is just not fit for democracy and harmonious living.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | November 10, 2018 18:15 hrs

Flipside of the Gunotsav exercise

A follower of G Plus from Guwahati, who also happens to be a good friend of mine, had to visit the Kazaringa Circle Office for some work related to his plot of land that happens to be located within the jurisdiction of that Circle.

Swapnil Bharali | November 10, 2018 18:10 hrs

India: Making SIZE matter

A grand statement by the BJP Government last week was to erect the tallest statue in the world. The move, although strong, has been strongly criticized by people, which of course has become the norm these days.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | November 03, 2018 14:49 hrs

Not ULFA (I)? Then who?

The crazy piece of news that came in about 5 non-Assamese people being killed by militants in battle fatigues at Dhola near Tinsukia was reminiscent of those troubled times that Assam went through in the 1980s.

Swapnil Bharali | November 03, 2018 14:40 hrs

REGULARLY JUGULAR

Regular is not fun. Regular is not hip. Regular is not exciting. Regular is well... regular. We are not in this to be regular. We set out on this endeavour not to be regular. We wanted to be unpredictable, instinctive, volatile, explosive.

Sunit Jain | October 28, 2018 12:07 hrs

An impassioned plea

This is Volume 6 Issue 1 of G Plus that you are holding in your hands – a singular opportunity for me to thank each and every one of you, our readers, for allowing us to see this day when we have completed 5 years of publishing. Yes! And I thank you from the bottom f my heart.

Swapnil Bharali | October 28, 2018 11:58 hrs

Guwahati Adda: Diwali bomb or Puja bomb?

Sharma: Oi, eibar puja was really dull (This time puja was really dull). No one came out of their homes it seems?

Sidharth Bedi Varma | October 24, 2018 11:32 hrs

A damp puja

Whether we want to admit it or not, Durga Puja this year was basically a damp squib and just did not stir the social bonding that Guwahatians are used to at this time of the year. The reasons are not far to seek actually.

Swapnil Bharali | October 24, 2018 11:21 hrs

Denying the digital journo

Himanta Biswa Sarma uses it. Sarbananda Sonowal uses it too. In fact, it was started by Narendra Modi in one sense. A national election was won based on its usage.

Swapnil Bharali | October 16, 2018 13:01 hrs

New in the market

We live in times when fitting into trends is more important than fitting into clothes, when just saying anything is more important than saying something relevant.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | October 16, 2018 12:59 hrs

Jail Bharo Aandolan

The businessmen in Fancy Bazaar area on Thursday, put up a small demonstration outside their shops in the area ‘requesting’ the administration to open up the old jail complex for parking during the festive season.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | October 08, 2018 13:14 hrs

The Gau-Guwa confusion

The honourable Gauhati High Court (GHC) has asked a pertinent question and its confusion is justified given that its own nomenclature bearing the word “Gauhati” is in direct conflict with its location which is Guwahati.

Swapnil Bharali | October 08, 2018 13:09 hrs

Piggybacking on the star

The talking point in the city this week is of course Rima Das and her monumental cinematic work, Village Rockstars. As the media partner helping her to promote and market her product to the masses, the G Plus team went through a series of activities that included a press conference and finally the premiere show at Cinepolis, Central Mall – both on Thursday last.

Swapnil Bharali | October 01, 2018 18:28 hrs

Guwahati Adda: Revealing the Faux Pas

Ozit (Ajit): Abbey World Tourism Day gusi gol and our brand ambassador Priyanka Chopra didn’t do anything for the state did she? Bizit (Bijit): Hmm… maybe she’s busy with the wedding bells around her.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | October 01, 2018 18:19 hrs

Messy VC appointment

Whatever is happening at Gauhati University is not nice. Period! It has never happened before and the unprecedented nature of the occurrences is akin to a touch of indigestion – a feeling that someone somewhere is tinkering around and compromising the quality of education dispensation of the apex institution.

Swapnil Bharali | September 26, 2018 14:00 hrs

Guwahati Adda: New Age Media

Random Human: Oh so I heard your column bagged some award in Delhi? Me: Oh yeah. Thanks. How’d you know?

Sidharth Bedi Varma | September 26, 2018 13:47 hrs

Something isn’t right…

Would you agree with me if I tell you that dear ol’ Guwahati is slowly effusing a sense of discomfort for its residents? Some situations make good examples.

Swapnil Bharali | September 18, 2018 11:46 hrs

Guwahati Adda : Hitchhiking in Guwahati

Conversation from a 1.5 km long journey from point A to B which, in peak Guwahati traffic, takes 20 minutes to cover on a two wheeler.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | September 18, 2018 11:41 hrs

Helmets (Y), Seatbelts (Y), Life Jackets (N)

That perilous river journey undertaken by hundreds, for work or otherwise, is one massive panga taken with the mighty Brahmaputra River on a daily basis - always ominous of a disaster waiting to happen.

Swapnil Bharali | September 10, 2018 15:51 hrs

Owning up to a disaster

The distance between North Guwahati and Guwahati can either be traversed by a 15 minute ferry ride or a 40 minute drive over the Saraighat.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | September 10, 2018 15:45 hrs

‘Server Down’ at Janata Bhawan

The Janata Bhawan is the nerve-centre of all government operations in the state. All major government functionaries operate out of here.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | September 01, 2018 18:43 hrs

Deciphering the MoHUA tweets

I am not really surprised at the recent tweets of the union Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs (MoHUA) classifying Guwahati, along with other NE regions, as unique in its geographical and demographic conditions. In fact, it could well have added the governmental and administrative uniqueness too.

Swapnil Bharali | September 01, 2018 18:20 hrs

One act of random kindness

Assam is going to become infamous as the girlfriend who cries every time you miss her phone call. She thinks that you’ve forgotten her and you’re busy with someone else. Well, it’s time Assam grew up and stopped whining…

Sidharth Bedi Varma | August 29, 2018 16:43 hrs

Cr‘ease’s of Living

It seems in India, Pune is the best city to live in, while dear ol’ Guwahati is among the worst at a lowly 85th rank, according to the Ease of Living Index rankings published recently by the central government.

Swapnil Bharali | August 29, 2018 16:31 hrs

Freedom of speech and criticism 

I think people have taken “freedom of speech” for granted. No one seems to have any control over what they are talking about, what information they are sharing, both personal and official...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | August 11, 2018 19:36 hrs

Selective rebukes

I hold the Supreme Court of India in reverence and awe. Actually, every Indian does. After all, it has been successfully putting the checks and balances on the corrupt elements of the Indian Executive...

Swapnil Bharali | August 11, 2018 19:32 hrs

Guwahati Adda: Namami Brahmaputra

Two people engage in a conversation after the end of the recent Namami Brahmaputra festival which was ‘washed away.’

Sidharth Bedi Varma | April 07, 2017 22:02 hrs

Guwahati Adda: The Blue Hue - Guwahati Traffic Police's New Uniform

New uniforms for traffic police in Guwahati? So is that change just cosmetic or has the service upgraded too?

Sidharth Bedi Varma | May 26, 2017 21:00 hrs

Guwahati Adda: Guwahati, In-flght magazine and Awesome Assam

3 friends strike up a WhatsApp conversation after they get back to Guwahati from Delhi, and they discuss the Awesome Assam campaign featuring Priyanka Chopra that has been made available on several in-flight magazines

Sidharth Bedi Varma | March 03, 2017 20:34 hrs

Guwahati Adda: 'Queue' pareshaan hai tu? - Demonetization and Guwahati

What a burden the entire Demonetization exercise was! People in Guwahati were holding to on to their spot at the ATM queue on to dear life. Here are the scenes from an ATM late at night. The colour of the clothes is how you remember people in a queue...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | November 18, 2017 18:50 hrs

Guwahati Adda: How fancy is your number?

What happened when the District Transport revised the rates for getting fancy number plates?

Sidharth Bedi Varma | January 13, 2018 18:00 hrs

Does Guwahati need a Mayor? 

Guwahati has a Mayor. This is information that a lot of people are not aware of. Let me begin with the premise that the Mayor is the highest-ranking official in the municipal department...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | August 04, 2018 16:14 hrs

An exercise in futility?

To all appearances, the mammoth NRC exercise seems done and dusted for the moment. Such was the scale and enormity of the task that at one point we wondered whether the Register...

Swapnil Bharali | August 04, 2018 16:10 hrs

Let’s Talk Guwahati

In this ongoing month of July, G Plus has possibly conducted one of the largest surveys ever done in the city of Guwahati independently. The survey titled 'Let's Talk Guwahati'...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | July 28, 2018 16:14 hrs

Being NRC negative

A friend’s office caretaker is an “Assamese Nepali” – the same variety of people that the more famous Mani Kumar Subba is. Not too educated and without much societal clout as is expected from people...

Swapnil Bharali | July 28, 2018 16:11 hrs

Guwahati Adda: GMC's Neutering Services

What happens when 3 Guwahati guys bring together pop-culture, headlines and administration together?

Sidharth Bedi Varma | July 09, 2018 18:48 hrs

A Gold for us khar khuas 

Hima Das, the name now every Indian should be proud of. This homegrown athlete has now taken Assam to the world, with a gold medal finally in the bag at an international...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | July 21, 2018 18:34 hrs

A diamond forever

The last occasion when Assamese hearts swelled with pride was when singer Debojeet Saha, of Silchar, buoyed by the huge SMS support and the good wishes of AASU, won a singing...

Swapnil Bharali | July 21, 2018 18:26 hrs

Is the public at fault?

In our run up to the second week of the FakeMat movement, it has been amazing to see the response and support that the campaign has received...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | June 27, 2018 16:54 hrs

Un’advise’able duo

Chief Minister (CM) Sarbananda Sonowal needs to be wary or at least start getting worried about the advice he is getting from his two trusted advisors – media advisor Hrishikesh Goswami and legal...

Swapnil Bharali | June 27, 2018 16:51 hrs

Fekna bandh karo! Fake mat!

Someone in 2018 said that the words to live by are: ‘If it’s not on social media, did it even happen?’ But did someone ever wait to think, ‘What if it’s on social media, and it never...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | June 16, 2018 17:22 hrs

System update required

Mob mentality: something that is difficult to comprehend in that a large number of individuals come together to think alike and be destructive to the point of being murderous...

Swapnil Bharali | June 16, 2018 17:20 hrs

“No Country for Joke Men”

China ya Pakistan ka recce kar nahi paye so what? Mars hi sahi! Bhaijaan: Are you calling our Prime Minister a swindler? A fraud? A thug? You dare mock the great Modi ji? Did not you hear about...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | June 02, 2018 19:56 hrs

Point driven home?

The first thing I do on waking up is of course scan the newspapers. Yeah, I know that’s part of my job. But more so these days, the progress or rather hopefully, the lack of it, as far as the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill...

Swapnil Bharali | June 02, 2018 19:30 hrs

GDD’s love affair with DPRs

These flood preparedness meetings have done nothing but made the concerned departments lazy and laid back about actually dealing with the onset of monsoons. Instead of...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | May 19, 2018 19:01 hrs

Masking the Development

Remember how around this date two years ago, we Assamese had voted – for change? Poriborton was the basic operative word. What that change would be was never explicitly spelt out by the harbingers...

Swapnil Bharali | May 19, 2018 18:59 hrs

History of Guwahati: The 60 year old Rani Chapari Manasa Puja

The temple has attracted the wrath of people for patronizing animal sacrifice in the name of culture, religion and traditions. But it is a debate to live up to that expectation as there is Section 428...

Kamal Baruah | May 19, 2018 13:48 hrs

Poriborton = demographic change, mind it!

All this while, I had thought that the cry of “poriborton” from two years ago meant development and progress. I had not bargained for “poriborton” to mean drastic demographic change!

Swapnil Bharali | May 12, 2018 12:17 hrs

Irrelevant ULFA’s relevant issues

It is Rebati Phukan’s disappearance rather than his existence and efforts as a peace interlocutor that has made news, more so because of the interest that the chief minister himself has taken towards verifying his fate.

Swapnil Bharali | May 09, 2018 12:53 hrs

Raasta khodo, Tender nikalo

Just for an on-ground check, both the newly appointed GDD and PWD Ministers should go for a drive on the Rupnagar-Kalapahar route and the Kharguli stretch.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | May 09, 2018 12:48 hrs

Cleaning up the mess from 20 years ago

Internal sources revealed that there are cases where the Foreigners’ Tribunal (FT) had identified possible foreigners and registered cases against them back in 1998. It was then that other machineries like the Police...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | April 28, 2018 16:26 hrs

‘Congressizing’ the BJP

A gentleman I know loved to ride a Harley Davidson; unfortunately he was not a competent rider. The bike was too heavy for him and handling it was kinda cumbersome. But he loved the bike’s power...

Swapnil Bharali | April 28, 2018 16:22 hrs

GMC and GMDA: glorified scavengers 

If these civic bodies do not get their act together, this so called smart city is going to the dogs and they will come only with their last minute contingency plans and continue...

Swapnil Bharali | April 11, 2018 10:36 hrs

Justice delayed, justice delivered

Salman, as an inmate at Jodhpur Central Jail, will be in the company of rape accused godman Asaram, Rajsamand's hate-murder accused Shambhu Lal Raigar

Swapnil Bharali | April 11, 2018 10:33 hrs

‘Mentoring’ our ministers

An all women’s university, clearly established in haste, with a “Mentor” for a Vice Chancellor, a chief minister for a Chancellor, professors contracted and not appointed - on ad...

Swapnil Bharali | April 06, 2018 20:29 hrs

Data breach and winds of change

Mark Zuckerberg’s public statement that was downplayed as a ‘breach of trust’ between Facebook and its users, while claiming that Facebook was unaware about this data theft, is one...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | March 27, 2018 19:16 hrs

A ‘SORRY’ picture

Over time I have learnt that human intelligence has two variants. One is academic in nature where “intelligent” people excel in their academic pursuits but then turn out to be failures in...

Swapnil Bharali | March 27, 2018 19:13 hrs

Biscuit Blunder

Dogs demand attention, more so pet dogs. Pidi is no different. And I cannot at all blame him for choosing the wrong moment to seek his master Rahul Gandhi’s affection...

Swapnil Bharali | March 14, 2018 17:33 hrs

Sex Survey Guwahati Today

A sex survey done by a reputed national weekly, across 19 major cities in India was the week’s highlight for Guwahati. While this survey has always been exciting and something that most...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | March 14, 2018 17:17 hrs

‘Wink’ Varrier redefines content barrier

Internet sensation and Malayalam actress, Priya Prakash Varrier, took the internet by storm this week. She caught the troll pages, meme makers and trendsetters by the scruff and showed them...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | February 22, 2018 20:32 hrs

Modis Operandi

Three Modis, over time, have really taken us in Guwahati by storm – each in their own unique way. While Narendra has given us enough reason to discuss, debate and argue on how...

Swapnil Bharali | February 22, 2018 20:29 hrs

Can we abstain from stains?

Three journalists are on a break from their grunt work. This is the conversation that follows...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | February 10, 2018 17:56 hrs

Mukeshbhai’s DODO, COCO & CODO 

Mukesh Ambani committed an investment of Rs 2,500 crores during his maiden visit to the state for the Advantage Assam summit. Brilliant! Retail outlets to...

Swapnil Bharali | February 10, 2018 17:53 hrs

Batting for 1951

To keep things logical, the cut-off year just has to be 1951 simply because 1971 does not have the requisite credentials to be so important. An accord signed as a culmination of a 6-year...

Swapnil Bharali | February 07, 2018 18:58 hrs

Shout and be productive...

Guwahati is on overdrive – a pace every metro city should be on. It is encouraging to see so much positivity around the city whether it is in terms of beautification, volunteer work or public announcements...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | February 03, 2018 17:12 hrs

Assam’s on ground Health check

These are regular trends that would have decreased with the passage of time, largely because the network...

Sidharth Bedi Varma | January 23, 2018 18:38 hrs

Road rage repercussions

Cases of this level of extreme road rage are rather uncommon in Guwahati and so, this comes as a real shocker.

Swapnil Bharali | January 23, 2018 18:32 hrs

Bhakts stronger than parody

As we move into 2018, we should be looking at increased political liberty and the ability to voice opinions freely, but this ends the year on a sour note. 

Sidharth Bedi Varma | January 02, 2018 17:04 hrs

Igniting the sporting spirit

A look back at the year brings to the mind the sheer variety of international sporting disciplines that the city hosted right from cricket and football (being the two most popular disciplines in India today) to other international events in badminton and boxing. 

Swapnil Bharali | January 02, 2018 17:00 hrs

A Requiem to Ajay Chetia

A peek through the usually open door of my cabin at my workplace had, so far, allowed me the wholesome sight of four young minds busy peering into their monitors, mouse in hand, at what we term as the creative/layout desk. It had become a habit with me and one of them missing from his chair would invariably make me raise questions about his whereabouts.

Swapnil Bharali | December 25, 2017 13:39 hrs

Deciphering the bizarre analogy

The anger against the health minister was massive and was mainly dissipated through social media. Cancer survivors especially felt that their health was mocked at and they responded by saying that they refuse to take such an abominable insult. “Shame on him!” was the war cry. 

Swapnil Bharali | November 27, 2017 18:52 hrs

Deferred till eternity

Preparing the NRC draft continues to be one of the most debatable and complex exercises that the country has undertaken, as proven by the recurring delays and deferred dates. 

Sidharth Bedi Varma | November 22, 2017 16:26 hrs

Corruption no more fashionable

As a layman pondering, I kind of felt that Guwahati had seen a phase in time when it was fashionable to be corrupt. The more you flaunted your ill-gotten wealth, the more upfront respect you got from all and sundry. And you just had to develop that thick skin to ignore the backbiting.

Swapnil Bharali | November 22, 2017 15:48 hrs

Good etiquette doesn’t cost a penny

The recent video that circulated where an IndiGo employee physically assaulted a certain passenger has taken the internet by storm. The cause of the fight, whatever it may be, has made one thing clear; India does not believe in ‘Dignity of Labour’.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | November 15, 2017 19:57 hrs

Guwahati in A Year

We have been an unenthusiastic lot for a long time now, but this year Guwahati demanded the attention it deserved.

Sidharth Bedi Varma | October 31, 2017 21:59 hrs

Inglorious “rockstar”

My worst fears - from my last editorial – came true. No, it doesn’t make me feel at all like Nostradamus; I was not on any prediction spree.

Swapnil Bharali | October 15, 2017 17:02 hrs