Assam records 78.23% voter turnout in first phase of Lok Sabha polls

Assam records 78.23% voter turnout in first phase of Lok Sabha polls

Mrinmoyee Hazarika | April 13, 2019 12:33 hrs

GUWAHATI: Assam has registered a 78.23% voter turnout in the first phase of polling that took place on 11th April.
The state recorded 67.40% voter turnout until 5 pm on the polling day in the Lok Sabha (LS) elections 2019. But the final outcome increased drastically by more than 10% at the end of the counting of the ballots. 

In phase one, five constituencies viz Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur went to polls.

In the last 2014 general elections, 78.75% of the voters exercised their franchise in the first phase of polling in Assam which has a total of 14 LS seats.

Out of the 50,80,004 voters who took part in the first phase of the 2014 general election, 26,29,008 were males and 24,50,996 were females. The voter break-up of the ensuing elections are yet to come in at the time of filing of the story.

This time, Kaliabor recorded the highest turnout of voters with 82.09%, followed by Tezpur with 79.15%.

Dibrugarh recorded 77.26% voter turnout, while Jorhat and Lakhimpur registered 77.49% and 74.81% voter turnouts, respectively.

With 77.78%, Lakhimpur had registered the lowest rate of voter turnout in the first phase of the 2014 election, the constituency continued its trend of having the lowest rate of voter turnout in 2019 with 74.81%.

Expressing his view on voter turnouts across the five constituencies, Debabrata Saikia, leader of opposition in Assam Legislative Assembly, told G Plus, “This time, ‘Modi magic’ did not work. 

“The kind of publicity made by BJP and the enthusiasm that we got to see among the people during the 2014 LS election is not there. The reason is because people expected a change and hoped BJP would fulfil its pre-poll promises. But, that did not happen.

“According to me, the additional voters who came out in support of Modi last time are not there. People have cast conscience vote and we are happy with the outcome of the voter turnout.”  

However, the ruling party BJP offered a different view on the tempo of the voter turnout in the first phase of polling.

Sunranjan Dutta, media panellist, spokesperson, BJP, said, “Its individual’s choice on whether to cast his/her vote or not.

“But, our (BJP) intact capacity in terms of involvement of people has increased by 3%. Previously, in 2014, we used to do lots of promotional and other activities publicly. But, now after coming to power, we are putting more focus on our internal policies related to elections.

“Our rallies have witnessed large gatherings and they have come out to vote. Even, I know people who have come a long way from Germany and Honk Kong just to cast their votes.”

Out of five constituencies in Assam where polling had completed, Tezpur has 14,94,878 electors, while Kaliabor has 17,31,610 electors.
The Jorhat LS constituency has 13,60,328 electors, while Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur have 13,12,195 and 76,03,458 electors, respectively.

Comments (0) Post Comment