Guwahati to celebrate 70th Republic Day amid Tight Security

Guwahati to celebrate 70th Republic Day amid Tight Security

Nehal Jain | January 26, 2019 09:35 hrs

GUWAHATI: Security measures have been beefed up in Guwahati as the state is all set to celebrate the 70th Republic Day. High-security checks of motor vehicles are underway across all the busy areas of the city and extra scrutiny is being done for people travelling to the state.

The district administration has deployed troops along the state’s border areas with Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, etc. A high alert has also been issued across the state. Miscreants from outside the state may act as hired goons by rebel groups. So checking has been intensified at all the entry and exit points of the city, informed a top police official.

“All security measures have been taken and extra personnel have been deployed. Citizens have nothing to worry about,” said DC Biswajit Pegu, speaking to G Plus.

Assam police have arranged massive security at Khanapara Veterinary Ground as well where the state government's Republic Day celebration is scheduled to be held from 9 AM onwards. 

The celebration will begin with Governor of Assam, Prof Jagdish Mukhi, ceremonially hoisting the national flag. This will be followed by parade, cultural pageant and other programmes. 

Chief Minister of Assam, Sarbananda Sonowal, speaker of Assam legislative assembly, Hitendra Nath Goswami, and other state dignitaries will be gracing the occasion and thousands of people are expected to attend the ceremony. With an expectancy of a high volume of footfall to witness the event, the Veterinary playground has also been adorned with the tricolour flag.

CM Sonowal will also be visiting Shraddhanjali Kanan before heading for the Veterinary Ground to pay floral tributes to the martyrs’ column inside the park and hoist the tricolour.

Further, a program will be held at the Governor’s residence followed by high tea.
It is to be mentioned that several groups across the northeast have called for a boycott of Republic Day celebrations. The Nagaland Students’ Organization in Nagaland, PRISM in Mizoram, the umbrella rebel-group Cor-com Committee in Manipur are some of the organizations calling for a complete boycott of the Republic Day celebrations.

Dhirendra Nath Chakraborty to be conferred with Republic Day Journalism Award

The government of Assam has decided to confer the prestigious Republic Day Journalism Award, 2019 to Dhirendra Nath Chakraborty, veteran journalist and former Editor of Dainik Asom, Dainik Janambhumi and Ajir Batori newspapers honouring his lifelong and immense contribution in the field of journalism in the state. 

Chakraborty, who will be the third recipient of the award, will be honoured at the state level function of the Republic Day on January 26, 2019 at the Khanapara Veterinary College Playground, Guwahati. Governor Prof Jagadish Mukhi and Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal will present the award to Chakraborty.

The award, which would be presented under the aegis of the Department of Information & Public Relations (DIPR), contains Rupees 1 lakh, a citation, a memento, Xaraai, Jaapi and an Angabastra.

The “Republic Day Journalism Award” has been instituted to honour persons of eminence in the field of journalism. Eminent journalist and editor of Dainik Asom, Late Radhika Mohan Bhagawati, was the first recipient of this prestigious award, while chief editor of Dainik Agradoot, Kanaksen Deka was the second.

15 police officers of Assam to be decorated on Republic Day

On the occasion of the 70th Republic Day, the President’s Police Medal for distinguished service will be conferred to Guwahati Joint Commissioner of Police (JCP), Deboraj Upadhyaya.
Upadhyay, along with 14 other police officers, have been titled for distinguished and laudable service on the occasion of Republic Day 2019.

The 14 officers selected for Police Medal for Meritorious Services are: Imdadul Hussain Bora, Superintendent of Police, Special Branch (Establishment); Mahesh Chandra Sharma, Assistant Inspector General of Police (W&S); Kumar Sanjit Krishna, Superintendent of Police, Sonitpur; Prasanta Saikia, Superintendent of Police, Dima Hasao; Suresh Sarma, Assistant Sub-inspector, Nalbari; Bhabesh Nath, Asssistant Sub-inspector, Border Organization; Padmadhar Das, Havilder, 1st APBn, Ligiripukhuri, Nazira; Nitish Ranjan Nath, Havilder, Hailakandi; Hemanta Chandra Ray, Havilder, 4th APBn, Kahilipara; Phanidhar Mohan, LNK (AB)-179, Dibrugarh; Sakhina Gogoi, WPC (UB)-342, Tinsukia; Lohit Chandra Ray, UBC-146, Bongaigaon; Kaushalya Doulagaphu, WPC(AB)-81, Tinsukia; Iramoni Baruah, WPC(AB)-228, Tinsukia.

Comments (0) Post Comment