Lok Sabha Elections in Assam: Top contenders and constituency profiles in Phase 3

Tuesday, 31 March 2020


Lok Sabha Elections in Assam: Top contenders and constituency profiles in Phase 3

Nehal Jain | April 20, 2019 16:27 hrs

GUWAHATI: With the completion of first two phases of polling for the Lok Sabha (LS) Elections 2019, the state is gearing up for the third phase of polling with four constituencies (Gauhati, Barpeta, Dhubri and Kokrajhar) set to go to polls on April 23. 

Among the 14 Lok Sabha seats of Assam, five constituencies (Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur) went to polls in the first phase on April 11 and the next five constituencies (Karimganj, Silchar, Autonomous district, Mangaldoi and Nowgong) went to polls on April 18.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the fight is expected to be between the Indian National Congress (INC) and the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which won an unprecedented seven seats from Assam in the last Lok Sabha elections. The BJP is contesting the ensuing Lok Sabha elections in Assam in alliance with Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF). The BJP-led alliance would contest 10 Lok Sabha seats while the AGP will contest Kaliabor, Barpeta and Dhubri seats and the BPF would contest the Kokrajhar seat.

 The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) led by perfume baron Badaruddin Ajmal is another strong player contesting from three constituencies namely Barpeta, Dhubri and Karimganj.

The filing of nomination for the third phase of the election ended on April 4, the scrutiny of nominations ended on April 5 and the withdrawal of nominations after scrutiny ended on April 8. 

Here’s a list of the top contenders in Gauhati, Barpeta, Dhubri and Kokrajhar constituencies that are scheduled to go to polls on April 23.

Comments (0) Post Comment