URPA World Ranking Arm-Wrestling Series 2019 concludes

Sunday, 29 March 2020


URPA World Ranking Arm-Wrestling Series 2019 concludes

G Plus News | July 30, 2019 14:44 hrs

The two-day arm wrestling mega event, The URPA World Arm Wrestling series 2019, ended on a high note on July 28, 2019 in GMCH auditorium Guwahati. 

The Champion of Champions in the men’s category was Partha Sonni from Maharashtra and Mamoni Bayan from Assam won the title in the women’s category. 

The event saw participation from more than 150 international and national champions. The event was inaugurated by Lakhya Konwar, Member secretary State Level Advisory Committee, Youth and Sport affairs along with Igor Mazurenko, President, Professional Arm-Wrestling League (PAL), Hridayananda Konwar, President Purna Bikash Sanstha (PBS) and Ronnie Sehgal, CEO Bulldog Arm Wrestling.

This is for the first time that Assam witnessed a Professional Arm-Wrestling Event of this caliber. World renowned match referee Zill Fadli, from Malaysia, conducted the entire event under his watchful eye with assistance from experienced referees from Assam and members of Purna Bikash Sanstha, PAL and Bulldog Sports. 

Igor Mazurenko and Kirill Yakovkev also conducted a seminar on Arm Wrestling on day 1 where they imparted knowledge on the latest developments in the International Arm-Wrestling Scenario. The second day witnessed a 12 hour long, Arm-Wrestling marathon with matches across 19 weight and arm categories and two champion of champions categories.

Speaking on the successful completion of the event, Hridayananda Konwar, President Purna Bikash Sanstha said, “My aim while organizing this event was to provide a platform where local arm-wrestlers could compete with national and international players, interact with international referee’s and experience first-hand ,where Arm Wrestling has reached on the international level. My vision is to see Arm-Wrestling become an Olympic Event in the near future.”

Local celebrities, government officials and the local media all came out in full support for the event. The event concluded with the prize distribution ceremony where 40 winners across various categories were handed out medals, certificates and cash prizes, amounting to a total of 6 lakh rupees.

The winners across various categories are as follows:

Men Right Arm

63 Kg: Winner – Manoj Debnath

Runner Up - Rajesh Nag

70kg: Winner – Aakash Kumar

Runner Up – Dipankar Mech

78 Kg: Winner – Toheed Sheikh

Runner Up – Arshdeep Singh

86 Kg: Winner – Pranjit Saikia

Runner Up – Ali ( Iran)

95 Kg: Winner – Guriqbal Singh

Runner Up – Arup Rajkonwar

105 Kg: Winner – Partha Sonni

Runner Up – Subham Marsala

105 Kg and above: Winner – Debojit Sharma

Runner UP – Gulap Singh

Men Left Arm

63 Kg: Winner – Rajesh Nag

Runner Up – Manoj Debnath

70 Kg: Winner – Aakash Kumar

Runner Up- Nipom Deka

78 Kg: Winner – Santosh Das

Runner Up – Rajat Bisht

86 Kg: Winner – Ali (Iran)

Runner Upu – Pranjit Saikia

95 Kg: Winner – Rohit Sheoran

Runner up – Sandeep Sheoran

105 Kg: - Winner – Subham Marshaba

Runner Up – Biswajit Lahon

105 Kg and above: Winner – Debojit Sharma

Runner Up – Gulap Singh

Women Right Arm

56 Kg: Winner – Jasudha

Runner Up – Niharika

65 kg: Winner – Mamoni Bayan

Runner Up – Amita Gowala

75 Kg: Winner – Seema Thapar

Runner Up – Gitali Mohan

Women Left Arm

65 Kg: Winner – Dharitri Koch

Runner Up – Niharika Gowami

65 Kg and above: Winner – Riya Hazari

Runner up – Mainu Deka

Comment (1) Post Comment
  • Dr Austin

    PUBLIC NOTICE; We are in need of kidney donor urgently with the sum of 4 crore 30 lakh, contact Dr Austin on WhatsApp NO +919535604767