Vaastu colours for this Navaratri

Saturday, 15 August 2020


Vaastu colours for this Navaratri

G Plus News | October 09, 2018 18:06 hrs

Navaratri is a Hindu festival of nine days from the first day of the ascending moon in the month of Asvin/Aswin to the ninth day. Navaratri means nine nights. It coincides with the navami (ninth day) of Durga puja. Several pujas, fasts and other rituals are observed by devout Hindus during this period. Navaratras are also observed during the lunar month of Chaitra (March-April) which is known as the Vasant Navaratri.

This year, the navaratris are falling from the 10th of October to 18th October. Nine forms of Goddess Durga will be worshipped during these nine days. Since vaastu pays a lot of importance to colours, various colours are recommended for Navaratri. Wearing these specific colours on these nine days is very auspicious.

 The first day: Goddess Parvati or Shailyaputri is worshipped on the first day. She is also known as Sati, the daughter of king Daksha or Ma Bhabani. She should be worshipped by wearing saffron or orange coloured clothes.

The second day: Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped on the second day of Navratri festival. This is the second form of Durga who took various births to attain Lord Shiva as her husband. Brahmacharini is also known as Tapashcharini, Aparna and Uma. She symbolizes spirituality and meditation. White is her favourite colour and one should wear white clothes to worship her.

The third day: Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped on the third day of Navratri.  She is also known as Chandrakhanda, Chandika or Ramchandi. Her name resembles crescent moon which is worn by her on the head. Devotees believe that the goddess blesses them with a lot of courage and bravery. Red- coloured clothes should be worn while worshiping on the third day of navaratri.

The fourth day: Goddess Kushmanda the fourth form of the Hindu goddess Durga is worshipped on the fourth day of Navratri. Ku means little, Ushma means energy and Anda means cosmic egg. It is believed that the darkness in the universe ended with her divine smile and then there was the beautiful beginning of creation. Blue-coloured clothes should be worn on this day while worshiping the goddess.

The fifth day: Goddess Skanda Mata is the fifth form of Goddess Durga and Skanda means Kartikeya and Mata means mother. She grants her devotees with wisdom, power and prosperity. She is also regarded as The Goddess of Fire. It is recommended to wear yellow while on this day while offering prayers and performing rituals.

The sixth day: Katyayani is the sixth form of Goddess Durga and is also known as the Warrior Goddess. It is said that on this day she eventually led to slaying the demon, Mahishasura and then mounted the lion given to her by Goddess Gauri. She should be worshipped wearing green-coloured clothes.

The seventh day: Kalaratri, the seventh form of Durga is known for destroying ignorance and removing darkness from the universe. Kalaratri or Shubhamkari – is the violent form of Goddess Durga. It is said that she licked the blood of demon Rakta Beeja, who had the potential to create demons from his blood. This form of the goddess depicts the darker side of life. Grey colour is advised for this day.

The eighth day: Mahagauri, the eighth avatar of Goddess Durga is known as a ray of lightning. According to mythology, she performed rigid tapas (limbs of Yoga) without moving her body. Due to which heavy amount of soil and dust got collected on her body and Lord Shiva cleaned her with water from the river Ganga. Therefore, purity is depicted in this form of Durga. She should be worshipped wearing purple clothes.

The ninth day: Siddhidatri is the ninth avatar of Mother Goddess who provides knowledge to her devotees. The knowledge that she provides makes one realise that it is only she who exists. In, short she is the supreme power of all perfect things. Kumari puja (worshipping a minor girl who is yet to attain puberty) is done on this day. Green is the recommended colour for this day while worshipping the goddess.

Comments (0) Post Comment