22 Researchers from IIT Guwahati Feature Among World’s Top 2% Scientists
daily news

22 Researchers from IIT Guwahati Feature in World’s Top 2% Scientists List

G Plus News | November 06, 2020 17:36 hrs

GUWAHATI: 22 faculty members and researchers of the Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati (IIT Guwahati) have been featured among World’s Top 2% Scientists List created by Stanford University that was released on 16th October.

The report prepared by experts at Stanford University has listed over 100,000 scientists, whose published research manuscripts have accelerated progress in their respective fields and influenced the productivity of other researcher’s wor
k as well.

Led by Prof. T. G. Sitharam, Director of IITG, the 22 faculty members have been ranked for their research publications citations for the year 2019 and their lifetime contribution to their specific fields of research.    


The list was published in the prestigious publication forum, PLOS Biology. 

Speaking about the contributions made by the faculty members of IIT Guwahati, Director T. G. Sitharam said, “This recognition of several faculty in the world’s top 2% of Scientists List has placed IIT Guwahati in the global map of Science and has brought great pride to the Institute. I congratulate all the 22 Scientists and their hard work and commitment to furthering Science.”

The following are the researchers from IIT Guwahati who have featured in the list of World’s Top 2% Scientists- 

1.    Ajaikumar B. Kunnumakkara -Department of Biosciences and Bioengineering
2.    Mihir Kumar Purkait- Department of Chemical Engineering
3.    Vijayanand S. Moholkar- Department of Chemical Engineering
4.    Pravat Kumar Giri- Department of Physics,
5.    Biman B. Mandal- Department of Biosciences and Bioengineering 
6.    Tharmalingam Punniyamurthy- Department of Chemistry
7.    Kaustubha Mohanty-Department of Chemical Engineering
8.    Shyam Biswas- Department of Chemistry
9.    Sanjib Ganguly- Department of Electronics and Electrical Engineering
10.    Gautam Biswas (Former Director, IITG) - Professor of Mechanical Engineering
11.    Pranjal Chandra- Department of Biosciences and Bioengineering 
12.    Vaibhav V. Goud- Department of Chemical Engineering
13.    Ujjwal K. Saha- Professor of Mechanical Engineering
14.    Ajay S. Kalamdhad- Department of Civil Engineering
15.    P. Muthukumar- Department of Mechanical Engineering
16.    Amarendra K. Sarma-    Department of Physics
17.    Rakhesh Singh Kshetrimayum- Department of Electronics and Electrical Engineering
18.    M. Groll (Visiting Professor, IITG) - Visiting Professor, IITG
19.    Bibhas Ranjan Majhi- Department of Physics
20.    Rajiv Tiwari- Department of Mechanical Engineering
21.    Debasish Borah- Department of Physics
22.    T. G. Sitharam- Director of Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati 


Comment (1) Post Comment
  • Sathyaprakash V

    Kudos to the scientists featured in this list. You are the pride of our nation & inspire our country's youth. May your tribe increase. Jai hind..mera Bharath mahaan