Bharat Ratna for Bhupen Hazarika, Pranab Mukherjee and Nanaji Deshmukh
daily news

Bharat Ratna for Bhupen Hazarika, Pranab Mukherjee and Nanaji Deshmukh

G Plus News | January 25, 2019 20:45 hrs

GUWAHATI: The President's Office conferred Bharat Ratna to Dr Bhupen Hazarika (posthumously), Nanaji Deshmukh (posthumously) and Pranab Mukherjee.

Press communique from the Rashtrapati Bhawan says: 

The President has been pleased to award Bharat Ratna to the following: 

1. Nanaji Deshmukh (posthumously)

2. Dr Bhupen Hazarika (posthumously)

3. Shri Pranab Mukherjee

Among the very first to congratulate the awardees was Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He tweeted to say that Pranab Mukherjee is an outstanding statesman of our times.

"He has served the nation selflessly and tirelessly for decades, leaving a strong imprint on the nation's growth trajectory. His wisdom and intellect have few parallels. Delighted that he has been conferred the Bharat Ratna," PM Modi tweeted.

"Nanaji Deshmukh's stellar contribution towards rural development showed the way for a new paradigm of empowering those living in our villages. He personifies humility, compassion and service to the downtrodden. He is a Bharat Ratna in the truest sense!" the PM also said.

For Dr Bhupen Hazarika, the PM wrote: "The songs and music of Shri Bhupen Hazarika are admired by people across generations. From them radiates the message of justice, harmony and brotherhood. He popularised India's musical traditions globally. Happy that the Bharat Ratna has been conferred on Bhupen Da."



(L) Nanaji Deshmukh (C) Bhupen Hazarika (R) Pranab Mukherjee

Comments (0) Post Comment