Bodoland Elections: Court Orders Both BPF & UPPL to Prove Majority Before Dec 26 | Assam News
daily news

Bodoland Elections: Court Orders Both BPF & UPPL to Prove Majority Before Dec 26

G Plus News | December 22, 2020 15:42 hrs

GUWAHATI: In an interesting turn of events in matters pertaining to the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) elections, Gauhati High Court has now asked the warring parties for a composite floor test to prove their majority in the council.

A bench of Gauhati High Court which had earlier ordered to maintain 'status quo' to the newly formed council, have now asked both United People's Party Liberal (UPPL) and Bodoland Peoples' Front (BPF) to prove majority in the
council through composite floor test on or before December 26, 2020.

Composite floor test means if there is more than one person staking claim to form the government and the majority is not clear, the Governor may call for a special session to see who has the majority. Some legislators or council members may be absent or choose not to vote. In such a case, the majority is counted based on those present and voting.

It may be mentioned here that both BPF and UPPL in Bodoland are adopting all possible options to keep their flock together. 

With UPPL, BJP, GSP trying to save their members from being 'horse traded', they have now been lodged at Assam House in Shillong.

Meanwhile, BPF has gone a step further by transporting all its winning members to Phuentsholing in Bhutan. Phuentsholing is a border town in southern Bhutan and is located 138 kms from Kokrajhar, the BTC headquarters.

Absence of anti-defection law in sixth schedule areas have now added to the crisis of government formation in the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC).

The Gauhati High Court had ordered a status quo in the BTC government till December 22 after Pramod Boro of UPPL was sworn in as the new BTC chief. The BJP, UPPL and the GSP, with 24 members combine in the 40-member BTC, forged a post-poll alliance to form the government in the BTR. BPF emerged as the single largest party winning 17 seats.

Comments (0) Post Comment