Cotton University Election Results Declared | AASU swoops 10 out of 17 Seats

Friday, 22 January 2021

daily news

Cotton University Election Results Declared

G Plus Digital Desk | October 31, 2017 12:21 hrs

Candidates backed by the All Assam Students' Union (AASU) won 10 out of the 17 posts including that of the General Secretary and the Assistant General Secretary. 
The Satra Mukti Sangram Samiti (SMSS), the students' wing of Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti (KMSS) won 4 seats and the National Students' Union of India (NSUI), the Congress's student unit, won one seat. The BJP's youth wing, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) was completely wiped out.
election results were declared on Monday evening. Monumohan Chutia beat Trinayan Baruah of NSUI by 165 votes for the post of the General Secretary.

3461 votes were cast.


General Secretay – Monumohan Chutia (AASU)
President – Mriganka Roy (NSUI)
Vice President – Porisree Bora (SMSS)
Asst. General Secretary – Himadri Sarma (AASU)
Cultural Secretary – Pallabi Hazarika (AASU)
Music – Amarjyoti Kakoti (AASU)
Cricket – Partha Pratim Borah (AASU)
Social Service – Nitashree Bhattacharya (AASU)
Girls’ Common Room – Bidisha Goswami (AASU)
Boys' Common Room – Prithviraj Mahanta (AASU)
Magazine Secretary – Abhijeet Bora (AASU)
Debate Secretary – Nidarshan Nandan Kaushik (AASU)
Hockey – Inamul Haque (SMSS)
Games Secretary– Jyotish Borgohain (SMSS)
Football – Ankush Basumatary (SMSS)


Cotton University gripped by Election Campaigning fever | G Plus Photo

Comments (0) Post Comment