Emergency Helpline launched in 16 states; Assam not among them

Wednesday, 02 December 2020

daily news

Emergency Helpline launched in 16 states; Assam not among them

G Plus News | February 20, 2019 15:46 hrs

GUWAHATI: The Emergency Response Support System (ERSS), a women’s safety initiative was jointly launched by Union Home Minister, Rajnath Singh and Minister for Women and Child Development, Maneka Sanjay Gandhi on February 19 in 16 states and union territories and Mumbai city.

People in these states and union territories will now be able to call a single pan India number, 112 for help with any emergency service such as Police, Fire, Health and other helpline
s through an Emergency Response Centre in the State.

The 16 states and union territories where the ERSS has been launched include Andhra Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, UP, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Puducherry, Lakshadweep, Andaman, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, J&K. However, Assam has not been included in the first phase of the list.

But, the Union Minister has said that it will be implemented across the whole country soon. People will be able to dial 112 or use the ‘Panic Button’ on their phones or use the 112 India Mobile App to register any emergency.

In addition to this, the Investigation Tracking System for Sexual Offences (ITSSO) and Safe City Implementation Monitoring Portal were also launched.

According to press statement by the authorities, the emergency response system can be triggered in the following ways:

  • On smartphones, the power button (which is the dedicated panic button) when pressed three times quickly can be used to call for any emergency.

  • Dialing 112 from any phone.

  • In case of feature phones, long press of the touch key 5 or 9.

  • Using 112 India Mobile App which is available for free downloading.

  • For women and children, 112 India App also provides a special SHOUT feature which alerts registered volunteers in the vicinity of victim for immediate assistance

ERSS had already been successfully implemented in the States of Himachal of Pradesh and Nagaland.


Representative Image

Comments (0) Post Comment